Robin McCarty Helps You Understand
If you are facing criminal charges, don't hesitate to contact me, Robin McCarty, to find out your options. As an Ellis County criminal defense attorney, I am aggressive and informative, and I can help defend you in court.
What should I do if I am arrested?
Be courteous and polite, request to see an attorney, and do not answer any questions or make any statements.
How do I hire a lawyer? What if I cannot afford a lawyer?
You should retain the services of an experienced and respected lawyer as soon as possible. If you cannot afford a lawyer, one will be appointed to you by the court. Having an aggressive and dedicated defense attorney can be vital to your success.
How long will it take to resolve my criminal case?
The amount of time required for each case varies depending on circumstances such as: type of case, whether it is in a state or federal court, particular judge or prosecutor, whether the accused is in jail or free on bond, number of people involved, amount of media coverage, the court's area of jurisdiction, and the general complexity of the case.
What kind of punishments can I expect?
In Texas, offenses are prosecuted at the lowest level of a Class B misdemeanor all the way up to capital felony. Some of the penalties can include:
- Class B misdemeanor: up to 180 days in county jail and up to $2,000 fine
- Class A misdemeanor: up to 1 year in county jail and up to $4,000 fine
- State jail felony: 180 days to 2 years in the state jail division of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice and a fine not to exceed $10,000
- 3rd degree felony: 2-10 years of incarceration in the institutional division of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice and up to $10,000 fine
- 2nd degree felony: 2-20 years of incarceration in the institutional division of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice and up to $10,000 fine
- 1st degree felony: 5-99 years or life in the institutional division of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice and a fine not exceeding $10,000
- Capital felony: death by lethal injection or life sentence in the institutional division of the Texas Department of Criminal Justice.
What are the consequences of a DWI or DUI charge?
The state of Texas has an Administrative License Revocation (ALR) process. You have 15 days to fight the automatic suspension of your license in a hearing that is independent of any criminal proceedings. In addition, you may be wrongly convicted, suffer an increase in automobile insurance for years, and be subjected to DPS imposed surcharges. I have extensive experience dealing with DUI and DWI charges, and I can fight the prosecution in court.
With my background as a police officer and former prosecutor,
I have hands-on street experience that some attorneys don't have. I care about my clients and strive to provide the strongest legal representation possible. Contact me immediately for a free case evaluation to get started on building your case!