Small Town Attention. Big City Results. Providing Top-Notch Legal Advocacy for All of Texas

Underage DWI Attorneys in Ellis County, TX

Representing Underage Drivers in Tarrant County, Dallas County & Ellis County

In Texas, it is illegal for a person under the age of 21 to operate a motor vehicle with any alcohol in his or her system. A misdemeanor offense, underage DWI can have serious consequences for a young adult. In addition to facing time in county jail and fines, a conviction can impact one’s education and employment opportunities. Taking this into consideration, it is easy to see why involving a DWI lawyer may be essential to facing a brighter future.

By representing your interests and protecting your rights in criminal court and at your hearing with the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV), a skilled Ellis County DWI attorney can seek a positive result on your behalf. This may include reduced charges, an acquittal, or a dismissal of your case altogether. At McCarty-Larson, PLLC, we are prepared to provide the personal attention and hard-hitting defense counsel you deserve in the face of underage DWI charges.

Interested in learning more? Call our team at (972) 843-7456.

Penalties for Under 21 DWI in Texas

Texas is a “zero tolerance” state, meaning that a person under the age of 21 is not allowed to have any alcohol in his or her system, whether or not he or she is operating a vehicle. If you test positive for alcohol while operating a vehicle as a minor, you may find yourself charged with underage DWI.

According to the Texas Department of Transportation (DOT), the following penalties may apply for a first offense of underage DWI, with any detectable amount of alcohol in one’s system:

  • Fine of up to $500
  • 60-day license suspension
  • 20 to 40 hours of community service
  • Mandatory alcohol-awareness classes

If a driver is under the age of 21 and has a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08% or greater, he or she may face the following penalties:

  • 3 to 180 days in jail
  • Fine of up to $2,000
  • 90-day to 1-year license suspension

Aggressive DWI Defense in a “Zero Tolerance” State

If you or your child has been charged with underage DWI, contact one of our experienced Ellis County DWI attorneys as soon as possible You have 15 days from the time of arrest to request a DMV hearing; if you miss this deadline, you lose the right to challenge the suspension of your license. McCarty-Larson, PLLC can get involved immediately to protect your driver’s license and your freedom in criminal proceedings.

Contact our firm at (972) 843-7456 for a free DWI case evaluation.

More than Qualified to Handle Your Case

What Sets McCarty-Larson, PLLC Apart?
  • Veteran Police Officer

    Our founding attorney has a professional background in law enforcement, equipping us with invaluable insight for your defense case.

  • Proven Track Record

    Through rigorous experience and seasoned legal abilities, our firm knows what it takes to reach a favorable outcome for your case.

  • Small Firm, Big Results

    You do not have to retain legal counsel from a big-city attorney for top-notch representation. Our firm serves clients throughout Texas.

  • Father of Four

    Our founding attorney knows how much of a toll legal issues can take on a family. For that reason, we do what it takes to protect our clients' best intersts.